National Sleep Medicine Course
(An annual academic venture by teaching faculty from USA, Japan and India)

Introduction: The National Sleep Medicine Course (NSMC) is organized in collaboration with academic faculty from United States, Japan and India. The course is intended to provide basic science, technical aspects and clinical science education to the Indian audience. The needs assessment analysis during September 2005, 2nd Interim World Congress of World federation of Sleep Research Society and Medical Societies (WFSRSMS), highlighted the urgent need for Sleep Medicine education initiative in India. The first course (NSMC 2006) was organized in AIIMS, New Delhi during October 14-15, 2006 as an experimental basis under the initiative of Dr Deepak Shrivastava. The overwhelming response and clinical success of the NSMC 2006 has encouraged us to continue the programme annually on regional basis since 2006.
  National Sleep Medicine Course  
Year Organizing Secretary Host Institute/Hospital Venue
2006 Dr H N Mallick AIIMS, New Delhi New Delhi
2007 Dr Bindu M Kutty NIMHANS, Bangalore Bangalore
2008 Dr Arpita Priyadarshini VSS Medical College, Burla Cuttack
2009 Dr Manvir Bhatia Sir Ganga Ram Hospital New Delhi
2010 Dr Kamalesh K Gulia SCTIMST, Trivandrum Trivandrum
2011 Dr Preeti Devnani Jaslok Hospital, Mumbai Mumbai
2012 Dr Bindu M Kutty NIMHANS, Bangalore Bangalore
2013 Dr Suresh Kumar Balaji Medical College, Chennai Chennai
2014 Break for organizing the *th ASRS Congress
2015 Dr Jogesh Sarma
Dr Kripesh R Sarmah
Gauhati Medical College Guwahati
2016 Dr Ravi Gupta Himalaya Institute of Medical Sciences, Jolly Grant Jolly Gant, Dehradun

Course Directors:

Dr Deepak Shrivastava,
Professor of Medicine, UC Davis School of Medicine, Davis
Director, San Joaquin General Sleep Center Stockton, California

Dr H. N Mallick
Professor, Dept of Physiology, AIIMS, New Delhi

Target audience:

General practitioners, specialists, healthcare professionals, residents and students. The course is limited to 50 participants and a registration fee is applicable. The participants will receive a certificate of merit upon successful completion of the course


The 2-Day course is designed to cover major topics in Sleep medicine over two days of didactic sessions and workshops covering following topics

Sleep basics: Physiology and pharmacology
Nuts and bolts of a sleep laboratory
Sleep Technology including Polysomnography: Technical aspects, interpretation and sleep stage scorings, and whole night polysomnograpghy
Clinical sleep medicine: Obstructive sleep apnea, narcolepsy, restless leg syndrome and periodic limb movement disorder, insomnia, parasomnias pediatric sleep disorders, circadian rhythm disorders, psychiatric disorders and sleep, medical disorders and sleep, epilepsy and sleep
Sleep Hygiene

International Faculty:

  • Dr Anuja Sharma, USA
  • Dr Anuj Chandra, University of Tennessee, USA
  • Dr Deepak Shrivastava, UC Davis School of Medicine, California
  • Dr Kumaraswamy Budur, USA
  • Dr Rama Maganti, USA
  • Dr Sunao Uchida, JAPAN
  • Dr Tripat Deep Singh (Singapore)

National faculty:

  • Dr Bindu M Kutty, NIMHANS, Bangalore
  • Dr Garima Shukla, AIIMS, New Delhi
  • Dr H N Mallick, AIIMS, New Delhi
  • Dr J C Suri, New Delhi
  • Dr Kamalesh Gulia, Thiruvanathapuram
  • Dr S Krishnan, Kerala
  • D Manjari Tripathy AIIMS, New Delhi
  • Dr Manvir Bhatia, New Delhi
  • Dr Preeti Devnani, Jaslok Hospital, Mumbai
  • Dr Suresh Kumar, Chennai
  • Dr V Mohan Kumar, SCTIMST, Thiruvananthapuram

Guest Faculty:

  • Dr David P White, USA
  • Dr Emmanuel Mignot, USA
  • Dr Yuichi Inoue, Japan


"Nominations are invited for ISSR election. Visit Notice Board for details"

ISSR-WSF certified Sleep Specialists

ISSR-WSF certified Sleep Technicians

NSMC Academic Faculty

Sleep Clinic/Laboratory Accreditation Programme

Sixth WSF Transitional Board Certificate Examination for Indian Sleep Specialists
(Conducted by World Sleep Federation on June 11, 2017)

Sleep Technician Certification Examination
June 11, 2017
ISSR Silver Jubilee Congress
September 20-23, 2017
International Centre, GOA
6th Sleep Technology Workshop
September 20, 2017
National Sleep Medicine Course 2017
September 21, 2017
Silver Jubilee Conference
September 22-23, 2017
ISSR Elections